Hey!

Fabian (28) is a young professional drummer from Germany. He graduated the pop course at the University of Music & Theatre in Hamburg and completed his drum studies at the University of Music in Osnabrück with a Bachelor of Arts. His longtime teachers were Wolf Simon and Jost Nickel, who have significantly influenced his playing. Further lessons with Ricky Lawson, Guido Jöris, Stephan Emig and the legendary studio drummer Curt Cress were also part of his studies.

Fabian works as a drummer and musical director in all popular styles of music, which leads him regularly to concerts and tours throughout Germany and half of Europe.

FABIAN KOKE

YAMAHA
TOUR CUSTOM

NEWS!

The Corona Virus has a firm grip on the culture and event industry. Almost all gigs will be canceled for the whole of 2020, universities / music schools are closed and lessons are only available online. If you are interested in online lessons, please feel free to contact me via “Contact”. I have more time than ever before! 🙂

BIO

As a sideman Fabian works/worked for national and international Artists like DJ BoBo (Mystorial Arena-Tour),  Manfred Mann’s Earth Band, Phunkguerilla feat. Cosmo Klein, Ayke Witt, Ingrid Arthur (Weather Girls), greenbeats, Lara Maria Gräfen, Nico Gomez, Decoy, Fresh Music Live, Edita Abdieski, Marla Glen, Jesse Ritch, Makeda, Simon Oslender, Jesse Kolb (Snap!), Jeff Lorber, Jimmy Haslip, Reggie Worthy and many more. Since 2019, Panikpreis winner SEBEL has been relying on Fabian’s services on drums.

He is a permanent member of the band of up-and-coming pop-singer/songwriter K R O N E R and funk/soul group Tommy Schneller Band, which has received numerous awards for their records. With the Coverband LIVE AND FAMOUS he is playing corporate, public and private events throughout Germany.

In addition to working on stage, Fabian can also be heard on various studio and commissioned productions. From studio album, over promotional jingle to corporate campaign, everything is represented. The recording studios in which he has previously worked include Gaga Studio in Hamburg, Studiowerk Braunschweig, Watt-Matters Studio in Bielefeld, Funkhaus Studio in Berlin and DocMaKlang Studio in Osnabrück.

In 2015 the instructional book “Interactive Groove Concept” by bassist Daniel Hopf got released, in which he co-wrote.

Since 2016 he is teaching Pop-Drums at Musik- & Kunstschule Bielefeld, the biggest school for music and arts in Germany.

“The drummer should create a foundation on which the other musicians can rely on.”

Fabian is also on the road as a clinician giving workshops at music schools and drumfestivals. He was among the teachers at Drums’n’Percussion Paderborn 2018, Europe’s largest drum festival.

If one had to describe his style of playing, his drumming is always unpretentious and absolutely appropriate to the song, without losing the necessary own spice. “Every bandleader wants a drummer like Fabian!” says guitarist Gregor Hilden.

The drum magazine “STICKS” writes about him: “If you want to get some inspiration from the brilliant drumming, you should not miss the album “Rise Up”. Because drummer Fabian Koke shows great cinema of a playfully imaginative master class.“

Fabian is exclusively supported by:

Yamaha Drums, Istanbul Mehmet Cymbals, VicFirth Sticks, Aquarian DrumheadsMr. Muff, Audix Microphones, Duende Percussion, Zoom ProductsAhead Armor Cases.

Reviews &

Interviews

These interviews are available for download:

Sticks:

“The jazz rockers play at a musically high level. That sounds cool and genuine handmade and directs the view of a cheeky funky trio, who pulls the whole register of a dynamic fusion-mixture (…) Great cinema shows here drummer Fabian Koke, who not only excels technically, but also with inventiveness .“

Mindener Tageblatt:

(…) Particularly impressive is the performance of the 21-year-old drummer Fabian Koke, who already has an amazing technique, moves the trio confidently forward at any time and enriches the sound with all sorts of effects, rhythmic fills and loose and precise side thrusts (…). „

Drums & Percussion:

“On the album there is very energetic, dirty, imaginatively arranged and also virtuously played electro-funk of the first quality class (…) If some other album of one of the supposedly great would have this energy and goodness! (…) A real find!

Music: 5 out of 5 stars, Drumming: 5 out of 5 stars”

Jazzdrummerworld:

“Each musician brings in his own character here, and so creates a musical fireworks of the extra class.“

Sticks:

“If you want to get some inspiration from the brilliant drumming, you should not miss the album” Rise Up “. Because drummer Fabian Koke shows great cinema of a playfully imaginative master class.“

DISKOGRAPHY

GEAR

Yamaha Drums
(Hybrid Maple, Live & Tour Custom)

Istanbul Mehmet Cymbals
(Traditional, Hamer, Legend & Origin Dark)

VicFirth Drumsticks
(5b Extreme)

Aquarian Drumheads 
(Jack DeJohnette, Super 2 & Super Kick)

Duende Percussion
(Cajon Duo)

Mr. Muff
(Muffkopf standard)

Audix Microphones
(D6, D2, D4, i5, ADX51)

Zoom
(Q2n4K)

Ahead Armor Cases

RECORDING

Through a cooperation with the Watt Matters Studio, Fabian has the opportunity to record his drums in an outstandingly well-sounding space. Over the years, he has played on several productions in this studio, which is why one of his sets is always on site.

Please send inquiries to info@fabian-koke.de. Sound examples can also be requested by mail.

DATES

Normally there would be a lot of nice gig dates here, but almost all the gigs for this year have been canceled due to Corona or the ban on major events 🙁

PICTURES

VIDEOS

CONTACT

For questions or requests for gigs, studio work or workshops, please send an e-mail to the following address:

info@fabian-koke.de

Hey!

 

 

Fabian (28) ist Absolvent des Popkurses in Hamburg und schloss sein Schlagzeugstudium an der Hochschule für Musik in Osnabrück mit dem Bachelor of Arts ab. Zu seinen langjährigen Lehrern zählen Wolf Simon und Jost Nickel, die sein Spiel maßgeblich beeinflusst haben. Weiterer Unterricht bei Ricky Lawson, Guido Jöris, Stephan Emig und Studio-Ikone Curt Cress war ebenfalls Teil seines Studiums.

Musikalisch ist Fabian als Schlagzeuger und Musical Director in allen populären Stilrichtungen unterwegs, was ihn regelmäßig auf Konzerte und Tourneen durch ganz Deutschland und halb Europa führt.

FABIAN KOKE

YAMAHA
TOUR CUSTOM

NEWS!

 

Das Corona Virus hat die Kultur- und Veranstaltungsbranche fest im Griff. Nahezu alle Gigs für das gesamte Jahr 2020 werden abgesagt, Hochschulen/Musikschulen sind geschlossen und der Unterricht ist stand heute, 22.04.20, nur Online möglich. Wer Interesse an Online-Unterricht hat, kann sich gerne über „Kontakt“ bei mir melden. Ich habe soviel Zeit wie noch nie zuvor! 🙂

BIO

Als Sideman arbeitet(e) Fabian für nationale und internationale Künstler wie DJ BoBo (Mystorial Arena-Tour),  Manfred Mann’s Earth Band, Phunkguerilla feat. Cosmo Klein, Ingrid Arthur (Weather Girls), Ayke Wittgreenbeats, Lara Maria Gräfen, Decoy, Fresh Music LiveEdita Abdieski, Marla Glen, Jesse Ritch, Makeda, Nico GomezSimon Oslender, Jesse Kolb (Snap!), Jeff Lorber, Jimmy Haslip, Reggie Worthy u.v.m.. Seit 2019 vertraut auch Ruhrgebietpoet und Panikpreis-Gewinner SEBEL auf Fabian’s Dienste am Schlagzeug.

Darüberhinaus ist er festes Mitglied der Band des aufstrebenden Berliner Singer/Songwriters KRONER und der mehrfach mit dem Preis der deutschen Schallplattenkritik ausgezeichneten Tommy Schneller Band. Mit der Coverband LIVE AND FAMOUS ist er deutschlandweit für Firmen, Städte und private Kunden unterwegs.

Neben der Arbeit auf der Bühne, ist Fabian auch auf diversen Studio- und Auftragsproduktionen zu hören. Von Studioalbum, über Werbejingle bis hin zur Konzernkampagne ist alles vertreten. Zu den Tonstudios, in denen er bisher gearbeitet hat, gehören das GAGA-Studio in Hamburg, das Studiowerk in Braunschweig, das WATT-Matters Studio in Bielefeld, das Funkhaus Studio in Berlin und das DocMaKlang Studio in Osnabrück.

Im Jahr 2015 erschien das Lehr-Buch „Interactive Groove Concept“ des Bassisten Daniel Hopf, an dem er als Co-Autor mitwirkte.

Seit 2016 unterrichtet Fabian Pop-Drums an der Musik- & Kunstschule Bielefeld und ist zudem auch als Workshop-Dozent unterwegs.

 

„Der Drummer sollte ein Fundament schaffen, auf das sich die Mitmusiker verlassen können.“

So war er beispielsweise bei Drums’n’Percussion 2018, Europas größtem Drumfestival in Paderborn, unter den Dozenten.

Müsste man seinen Stil beschreiben, so kommt sein Drumming immer uneitel und absolut songdienlich daher, ohne dabei die nötige, eigene Würze zu verlieren. „So einen Schlagzeuger wie Fabian wünscht sich jeder Bandleader!“ sagt der Gitarrist Gregor Hilden.

Das Magazin „STICKS“ schreibt über ihn: „Wer sich vom brillanten Drumming ein paar Inspirationen abholen möchte, der sollte sich das Album „Rise Up“ nicht entgehen lassen. Denn Schlagzeuger Fabian Koke zeigt großes Kino einer spielerisch ideenreichen Meisterklasse.“

Fabian ist Endorser von:

Yamaha Drums, Istanbul Mehmet Cymbals, VicFirth Sticks, Aquarian Drumheads, Mr. Muff, Audix Microphones, Duende PercussionZoom & Ahead Armor Cases.                                                            

                                                                        

REVIEWS &

INTERVIEWS

Diese Interviews sind als Download verfügbar:

Sticks:

„(…)Wer sich vom brillanten Drumming ein paar Inspirationen abholen möchte, der sollte sich Rise Up nicht entgehen lassen. Denn Schlagzeuger Fabian Koke zeigt großes Kino einer spielerisch ideenreichen Meisterklasse.“

Mindener Tageblatt:

(…)Besonders beeindruckend ist immer wieder die Leistung des erst 21-jährigen Drummers Fabian Koke, der bereits über eine verblüffende Technik verfügt, das Trio jederzeit souverän nach vorne treibt und das Klangbild durch allerlei Effekte, rhythmische Fills sowie locker und präzise gesetzte Seitenhiebe bereichert (…).“

Drums&Percussion:

„Auf dem Album findet sich sehr energetischer, dreckiger, ideenreich arrangierter und überdies virtuos gespielter Elektro-Funk der ersten Güteklasse(…)Hätte doch manch anderes Album eines der vermeintlich Großen diese Energie und Güte! (…) Eine echte Entdeckung!

Musik: 5 von 5 Sternen, Drumming: 5 von 5 Sternen „

Jazzdrummerworld:

“Jeder Musiker bringt hier seinen eigenen Charakter mit ein und so entsteht ein musikalisches Feuerwerk der Extraklasse.”

Sticks:

“Auf musikalisch hohem Niveau spielen sich die Jazzrocker die Bälle zu. Das klingt handgemacht cool und echt und richtet den Blick auf ein freches funky Trio, das durchaus risikofreudig die gesamten Register einer dynamischen Fusion-Mixtur zieht (…) Großes Kino zeigt hier Schlagzeuger Fabian Koke, der nicht nur technisch brilliert, sondern auch mit Ideenreichtum überzeugt.“

DISKOGRAFIE

GEAR

Yamaha Drums
(Hybrid Maple, Live & Tour Custom)

Istanbul Mehmet Cymbals
(Traditional, Hamer, Legend & Origin Dark)

VicFirth Drumsticks
(5b Extreme)

Aquarian Drumheads 
(Jack DeJohnette, Super 2 & Super Kick)

Duende Percussion
(Cajon Duo)

Mr. Muff
(Muffkopf standard)

Audix Microphones
(D6, D2, D4, i5, ADX51)

Zoom
(Q2n4K)

Ahead Armor Cases

 

RECORDING

Durch eine Kooperation mit dem Watt Matters Studio hat Fabian die Möglichkeit, seine Drums in einem herausragend gut klingenden Raum aufzunehmen. Über die Jahre hat er in dem Studio schon diverse Produktionen eingetrommelt, weshalb vor Ort immer eines seiner Sets steht.

Anfragen bitte an info@fabian-koke.de schicken. Soundbeispiele können ebenfalls gerne per Mail angefordert  werden. 

TERMINE

Normalerweise würden hier jetzt viele schöne Gig-Termine stehen, jedoch wurden schon so gut wie alle Gigs für dieses Jahr aufgrund von Corona bzw. des Großveranstaltungsverbots abgesagt... 🙁

VIDEOS

KONTAKT

Bei Fragen oder Anfragen für Gigs, Studioarbeiten oder Workshops, bitte eine E-Mail an folgende Adresse senden:

info@fabian-koke.de